How to Get Married in Colorado

So, you've planned a lovely wedding, stayed within your budget, and and now you're ready for the actual getting married part of the process. But how? Don't worry, Tulle Nation, I've got you taken care of. Each week this year, I'll be sharing all the information you need to know to get married in one state in the United States. Today, Colorado!

So, you've planned a lovely wedding, stayed within your budget, and and now you're ready for the actual getting married part of the process. But how? Don't worry, Tulle Nation, I've got you taken care of. Each week this year, I'll be sharing all the information you need to know to get married in one state in the United States. Today, Colorado!

  How to Get Married in Colorado

Application, ID, and Residency Requirement: If both parties are over age 18, you must both go to a county clerk and recorder’s office to sign an application and pay the fee for the license. You must both bring proofs of your age and identity in English (examples of acceptable proof include a driver’s license, state identification card, birth certificate, or passport). You do not have to be a Colorado resident to apply for a marriage license.

A couple is prohibited from marrying when one of the parties is still married to another person.  If either party has been married previously, you will need to provide the date, place and type of court if divorced. In some cases, the clerk may ask for a copy of your divorce decree so it will be a good idea to bring a certified copy with you.  Widows/widowers need to supply the date and place of death of their former spouse.

There is no waiting period after your license is issued to use it – you may use it immediately.  You can apply for your license up to 30 days prior to the date of your wedding ceremony. Marriages are also prohibited between ancestor and descendant, brother and sister, uncle and niece, or aunt and nephew, whether the relationship is by half or whole blood. Marriage between cousins is permitted in the State of Colorado.

If a party to a marriage is unable to be present at solemnization, he/she may authorize in writing a third person to act as his/her proxy. If either one of you is on probation or parole, you will may require special authorization.

How Much a Marriage License Cost?: Marriage license is $30.00 in cash or credit/debit card with a fee.

Under 18: If one or both parties are under age 18, contact a county clerk and recorder’s office for details on consent you must have. Once you have the proper consent, you will need to follow the same directions as when both parties are over age 18.

Common law marriages: A common-law marriage in Colorado is valid for all purposes, the same as a ceremonial marriage. It can be terminated only by death or divorce. The common-law elements of a valid marriage are that the couple

  • is free to contract a valid ceremonial marriage, that is, they are not already married to someone else
  • holds themselves out as husband and wifeconsents to the marriage
  • cohabits
  • has the reputation in the community as being married.

Officiants: The marriage ceremony may be performed by:

  • a judge
  • a retired judge
  • a magistrate
  • any public official authorized to perform marriages
  • any person recognized as authorized to perform marriages by
    • any religious denomination
    • any Indian nation
    • any Indian tribe
  • the people getting married

Note: Friends or relatives may only perform the ceremony if they are in the list above.

Valid: After you receive the license, you must have the marriage solemnized (ceremony performed) and return the license to the county clerk and recorder’s office within 30 days.

Equality Rights: Same-sex marriage is legal in Colorado.

Name Change: Getting a marriage license with your new name on it does not mean your name has automatically changed.

It is very important that you verify all information with your local marriage license office or county clerk before making any wedding or travel plans.

Pre-apply Online Prior to Arrival at the Clerk's Office: For those getting your license in the Estes Park or Larimer County areas – To help reduce waiting time, you may now fill out your marriage application online! Be sure to fill out this form completely and click "Submit" at the end to proceed. Once the online form is completed, the bride and groom must finalize their application by visiting any of the following Clerk & Recorder's Office locations and presenting valid identification. Apply Online Now!

For information on obtaining a wedding license in your county, click here.

Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. For more detailed information click here.

How many of you are getting married in Colorado?