How to Get Married in Connecticut

So, you've planned a lovely wedding, stayed within your budget, and and now you're ready for the actual getting married part of the process. But how? Don't worry, Tulle Nation, I've got you taken care of. Each week this year, I'll be sharing all the information you need to know to get married in one state in the United States. Today, Connecticut!

So, you've planned a lovely wedding, stayed within your budget, and and now you're ready for the actual getting married part of the process. But how? Don't worry, Tulle Nation, I've got you taken care of. Each week this year, I'll be sharing all the information you need to know to get married in one state in the United States. Today, Connecticut!

How to Get Married in Connecticut

Application, ID, and Residency Requirement: If you are planning to marry, you and your spouse-to-be must appear in person at a local vital records office to apply for a marriage license. The marriage license is issued to ensure that you and your spouse-to-be are eligible to be married. You must apply for your marriage license at the vital records office of the town where the marriage is to take place.

You do not have to be a resident of Connecticut, but you do need to apply in either the town where one of you lives, or in the town where you plan on getting married.

Connecticut law requires that you present photo ID such as a driver's license or a passport. You also need to know the following:

  • Your social security numbers
  • Your mother's maiden name.
  • Your parents' birthplaces.
  • Date and location of your wedding.
  • Name and contact info of your wedding officiant.

You will need to complete the marriage license application, provide identification and make a sworn statement that the information that you provide is true. You no longer need to have a blood test to obtain a marriage license in Connecticut. There is no waiting period though some towns may require you to pick the license up the next day. Proxy marriages are not allowed in Connecticut.

You will need to show your divorce decree, or have information regarding date, county and state of death of previous spouse. If your name has changed, you need to bring a certified copy of your divorce decree.

Any two persons may marry in Connecticut so long as both parties to the marriage meet Connecticut’s eligibility requirements. A person is eligible to marry if such person is:

  • At least 18 years old.
  • Not under the supervision or control of a conservator, or the following exception is met:
    • the person is under the supervision or control of a conservator and such person has received written consent to marry from their conservator.
  • Not prohibited from marrying pursuant to section C.G.S. § 46b-21.  C.G.S. § 46-21 prohibits persons from marrying their parent, grandparent, child, grandchild, sibling, parent’s sibling, sibling’s child, stepparent or stepchild.
  • Not a party to another marriage, or a legal relationship that provides substantially the same rights, benefits and responsibilities as a marriage, or one of the following exceptions are met:
    • the person is joined in a civil union and such person marries their civil union partner; or
    • the person is joined in another type of  legal relationship that is substantially similar to a civil union, and such person marries the partner of such other relationship.

Under 18: The person is under 18 years of age, and such person has received written consent to marry from a parent, guardian, or in the absence of such parent or guardian, a probate court judge. The person is under 16 years of age, and such person has received written consent to marry from a probate court judge.

How Much a Marriage License Cost?: $30-$35 approximately. Fee may vary from county to county. Most locales won't accept credit cards or out-of-state checks. Cash is best, but don't bring bills larger than $20.

Officiants: Judges, retired judges, Connecticut state referees, Connecticut justices of the peace, and ordained or license clergymen (belonging to any state) may perform weddings in Connecticut. If a friend or relative wants to perform your wedding ceremony, they can if an authorized officiator is also present to confirm your marriage ceremony and to sign your marriage license.

Valid: A marriage license in Connecticut is valid for sixty-five (65) days and is only valid in Connecticut. Once the marriage ceremony takes place, the marriage officiator will submit the license to the registrar of vital records of the town where the marriage took place. The registrar will then register the license and place it on file for permanent record.  Once registered, the marriage license becomes a vital record and is referred to as a marriage certificate.

Equality Rights: Same-sex marriage is legal in Connecticut.

Name Change: Getting a marriage license with your new name on it does not mean your name has automatically changed.

It is very important that you verify all information with your local marriage license office or county clerk before making any wedding or travel plans.

For More Information:

410 Capitol Avenue Hartford, CT 06134
Phone: (860) 509-8000

Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. For more detailed information click here.

How many of you are getting married in Connecticut?

0 Shares