How to Get Married in Delaware

So, you've planned a lovely wedding, stayed within your budget, and and now you're ready for the actual getting married part of the process. But how? Don't worry, Tulle Nation, I've got you taken care of. Each week this year, I'll be sharing all the information you need to know to get married in one state in the United States. Today, Delaware!

So, you've planned a lovely wedding, stayed within your budget, and and now you're ready for the actual getting married part of the process. But how? Don't worry, Tulle Nation, I've got you taken care of. Each week this year, I'll be sharing all the information you need to know to get married in one state in the United States. Today, Delaware!

How to Get Married in Delaware 

Application, ID, and Residency Requirement: The Couple must apply together in person.You must be at least 18 years of age to marry.You can not be related to each other. No medical or blood test is required in Delaware. You can not be under the influence of drugs or alcohol.

Persons intending to be married within this State shall obtain a marriage license at least 24 hours prior to the time of the ceremony. This applies to residents as well as non-residents. If individuals have previously been married, an original or certified copy of the Divorce Decree, Annulment, or Death Certificate is required. Special authorization is required if either party is on probation or parole.

valid state I.D. or Drivers License issued by the DMV, Passport, U.S. Visa I.D. Card, Federal Driver's License, Military I.D. or Government Consulate I.D. is required to apply for a marriage license. To verify the authenticity of an applicant’s identification, the office of the Clerk of the Peace may also require additional documentation such as a birth certificate or social security card.

Under 18: You must be at least 18 years of age to marry. Minors must petition Family Court for authorization to marry.

How Much a Marriage License Cost?: The Marriage license fee is $50.00 if either applicant is a Delaware resident; $100.00 if neither applicant is a Delaware resident. Effective January 1, 2013, there will be a $10.00 recording fee for all licenses issued, due at the time of application.

Marriage licenses can be purchased as a gift certificate.

Civil Wedding: The Delaware Civil Union Law went on Sunday January 1, 2012. The state of Delaware will treats out-of-state marriage, civil union, or substantially similar legal relationship (such as a California registered domestic partnership) as a civil union.

Under Delaware’s new law, a civil union is a legally recognized relationship of two people. Only same-sex couples can enter into a civil union in Delaware. A couple in a civil union will receive all the legal benefits and protections, and be subject to the same legal responsibilities, as are provided under Delaware law to married couples.

Officiants: Any ordained minister of the gospel and every minister in charge of a recognized church may perform marriages. Ministers do not need to be licensed to perform marriages but they must report their name and address to the local registrar in the district in which they live. Ministers must keep the marriage license or a copy for at least one year. Also, the minister must, within four days, complete and return forms required by the State Board of Health to the clerk of the peace.

Valid: Marriage licenses are valid for 30 days and the ceremony must take place in Delaware. The license is valid for 30 days and only in Delaware.

Equality Rights: Same-sex marriage is legal in Delaware.

Name Change: Getting a marriage license with your new name on it does not mean your name has automatically changed.

It is very important that you verify all information with your local marriage license office or county clerk before making any wedding or travel plans.

For More Information:

Delaware County Clerk's Office

Kent County
Dover, DE
302.736.2155

New Castle County Clerk
Wilmington, DE
302.571.7590

Sussex County Clerk
Georgetown, DE
302.855.7834

Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. For more detailed information click here.

How many of you are getting married in Delaware?