How to Get Married in Illinois

So, you've planned a lovely wedding, stayed within your budget, and and now you're ready for the actual getting married part of the process. But how? Don't worry, Tulle Nation, I've got you taken care of. Each week this year, I'll be sharing all the information you need to know to get married in one state in the United States. Today, Illinois!

So, you've planned a lovely wedding, stayed within your budget, and and now you're ready for the actual getting married part of the process. But how? Don't worry, Tulle Nation, I've got you taken care of. Each week this year, I'll be sharing all the information you need to know to get married in one state in the United States. Today, Illinois!

How to Get Married in Illinois

Application, ID, and Residency Requirement: There are no residency requirements to obtain a marriage license in Illinois. All applicants must file the marriage license application in the county where the marriage will take place. Illinois has a one-day waiting period after the application has been filed. Partners can apply for a marriage license at the county clerk’s office in the county in which they will be wed. Both partners must be present to sign the application in front of the county clerk.

Illinois requires a valid photo ID (driver’s license or state-issued ID) to apply for a marriage license. In the event that an applicant does not have a photo ID, two forms of ID will be required: one showing a current address (such as a bill), and another such as a medical/car insurance card, credit card or statement, bank statement, paycheck stub or active-duty military ID. Social Security cards are not accepted forms of identification for a marriage license in Illinois.

For previously married applicants, information on when and where the marriage ended will be required. A clerk may also require a copy of divorce decree or certificate of dissolution of marriage. Illinois does not allow common-law marriages. First cousins can marry in Illinois if they are 50 or older or if either partner presents a doctor’s note stating that the applicant is sterile. Individuals who reside out of state may not apply for a marriage license in Illinois if such a marriage would not be legal in their home state.

Under 18: Applicants who are 16 or 17 years old may apply for a marriage license with consent from parents or guardians, but the court can waive the parental consent requirements in special cases. No one younger than 16 can be married in Illinois.

How Much a Marriage License Cost?: A marriage license costs $15-$60 (depending upon the county).

Officiants: Ordained ministers, judges, retired judges, and public officials whose powers include solemnization of marriages.

Valid: A marriage license is valid for 60 days after the date of issuance.

Equality Rights: Same sex marriage is legal in Illinois.

Name Change: Getting a marriage license with your new name on it does not mean your name has automatically changed.

It is very important that you verify all information with your local marriage license office or county clerk before making any wedding or travel plans.

For More Information:

Illinois Dept. of Public Health
Division of Vital Records
605 W. Jefferson St.
Springfield, IL 62702-5097
217-782-6553
Fax: 217-523-2648

Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice.

How many of you are getting married in Illinois?

0 Shares