How to Get Married in Iowa

So, you've planned a lovely wedding, stayed within your budget, and and now you're ready for the actual getting married part of the process. But how? Don't worry, Tulle Nation, I've got you taken care of. Each week this year, I'll be sharing all the information you need to know to get married in one state in the United States. Today, Iowa!

So, you've planned a lovely wedding, stayed within your budget, and and now you're ready for the actual getting married part of the process. But how? Don't worry, Tulle Nation, I've got you taken care of. Each week this year, I'll be sharing all the information you need to know to get married in one state in the United States. Today, Iowa!

How-to-Get-Married-in-Iowa

Application, ID, and Residency Requirement: There is no residency requirement to obtain a marriage license in Iowa. There is a required three-day waiting period after the marriage license application has been received. The waiting period may be waived, however, in the case of an emergency with a court order. After a judge approves a court order to expedite the marriage, both partners must present the order to the county registrar and pay a $5 fee in order to validate the license.

Applicants must be 18 to obtain a marriage license in Iowa. Applicants must apply at a county registrar's office. Both partners as well as a witness must be present when the application is turned in. However, if one of you can't be present at the Recorder's Office to apply for the license, the absent party can sign the Iowa marriage license application before a Notary Public.

Applicants must furnish a photo ID such as a driver's license or state-issued ID at the time of the marriage application. Applicants are not required to be U.S. citizens but must provide proof of identity. If either partner was divorced within 60 days, a signed copy of the divorce decree is required.

Under 18: Marriage license exceptions may be made for applicants who are 16 and 17 who have permission from a judge and an additional Consent to Marriage of a Minor form.

How Much a Marriage License Cost?: The cost of a marriage license in Iowa is $35 cash only. The fee and acceptance of checks or credit cards varies from County to County.

Officiants: A judge, an ordained or licensed clergyman or a justice of the peace can officiate weddings in Iowa. Two witnesses must be present at the wedding ceremony.

Valid: Licenses expire six months after the date of application.

Equality Rights: Same-sex marriage is legal in Iowa.

Common Law Marriage: Iowa recognizes common law marriages and does not have a time requirement for couples to be categorized as common-law spouses. In Iowa, a common-law marriage is a social relationship "that meets all the necessary requisites of a marriage, except that it was not solemnized, performed or witnessed by an official."

Name Change: Getting a marriage license with your new name on it does not mean your name has automatically changed.

It is very important that you verify all information with your local marriage license office or county clerk before making any wedding or travel plans.

For More Information:

Iowa Department of Public Health
321 E. 12th, 4th Floor
Des Moines, IA 50319
(515) 281-4944

Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice.

How many of you are getting married in Iowa?

0 Shares