How to Get Married in Kentucky

So, you've planned a lovely wedding, stayed within your budget, and and now you're ready for the actual getting married part of the process. But how? Don't worry, Tulle Nation, I've got you taken care of. Each week this year, I'll be sharing all the information you need to know to get married in one state in the United States. Today, Kentucky!

So, you've planned a lovely wedding, stayed within your budget, and and now you're ready for the actual getting married part of the process. But how? Don't worry, Tulle Nation, I've got you taken care of. Each week this year, I'll be sharing all the information you need to know to get married in one state in the United States. Today, Kentucky!

How to Get Married in Kentucky

Application, ID, and Residency Requirement: Marriage applicants do not have to be Kentucky residents to get married in Kentucky, and there is no waiting period. A marriage license has to be obtained at the county clerk's office and both parties need to be present. An ID is required to obtain a marriage license in Kentucky. Acceptable forms of ID include a driver's license, current picture ID, Social Security card, birth certificate or passport. Blood tests are not required. If either of the parties was previously married, most counties in Kentucky mandate that both parties bring proof of death or divorce.

Under 18: The legal age to marry in Kansas is 18. However, a person can get married as young as 16 if he or she has permission from his or her parents or legal guardians. If the parents are married, not legally separated, and no legal guardian has been appointed, the minor needs permission from either the mother or father. If both parents are legally divorced, and each has joint custody, the minor needs permission from both parents. Consent can also be obtained from another person that has legal custody of the minor.

How Much a Marriage License Cost?: A marriage license costs $35.50 in Kentucky.

Officiants: The person performing the marriage ceremony must be an ordained or licensed clergyman or justice of the peace who has been licensed in Kentucky to perform weddings. Kentucky state law requires that the wedding have two witnesses. The person performing the ceremony must then issue a statement confirming the ceremony was indeed performed. This statement must include the name and title of the person performing the ceremony, the names of the people married, the date and place of the marriage, and the names of the two witnesses. This certificate must also include the legal qualifications of the person performing the ceremony.

Valid: The license is valid for 30 days, including the day it was issued.

Equality Rights: Same-sex marriage is legal in Kentucky.

Name Change: Getting a marriage license with your new name on it does not mean your name has automatically changed.

It is very important that you verify all information with your local marriage license office or county clerk before making any wedding or travel plans.

For more information obtaining a marriage license in Kentucky click here.

Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice.

How many of you are getting married in Kentucky?

0 Shares